Druckansicht der Internetadresse:

Faculty of Mathematics, Physics & Computer Science

Print page


To help you find your way around quickly, we have compiled information about the organizational aspects on this page and its sub-pages, as well as a number of contact persons in the faculty.

Office of the deanHide


  • Prof. Dr. Volker Ulm

Vice deans

  • Prof. Dr. Oliver Bäumchen
  • Prof. Dr. Michael Guthe

Dean of studies

  • Prof. Dr. Markus Lippitz

Women’s representative

  • JProf. Dr. Eva M. Herzig
  • Deputies: Prof. Dr. Melanie Birke and Prof. Dr. Wim Martens


Faculty Affairs

  • Natascha Mogalle
    Room:, Building NW II
    Phone: +49 (0)921 / 55-3197
    Email: natascha.mogalle@uni-bayreuth.de
    Office hours: Tue–Thu 8:30–13:30, via phone on Mon and Fri in the morning

Post office

  • Reinhold Schoberth
    Room:, Building NW II
    Phone: +49 (0)921 / 55-3196
    Fax: +49(0)921 / 55-2999

  • Josef Lehner
    Room: 0.42, Building AI
    Phone: +49(0)921 / 55-7650
    Fax: +49(0)921 / 55-7651

Faculty advisor for teaching and learningHide

Faculty I is comprised of the departments for mathematics, physics, and computer science. Detailed information can be found on the websites listed below.

Student CouncilHide

The MPI Student Council is the officially elected student representation of the faculty. We are available to all students of the faculty for questions and in particular support first-year students.

Julia Schwarz (Spokesperson)
Armin Rödiger (Deputy spokesperson)

Office hours:
during lecture time: Mon–Thu 13:00–16:00
outside of lecture time: Wed 12:00–14:00

Office: Building NW II, Room (next to S 78)
Phone: +49 (0)921 / 55-3101
​Email: fsmpi@uni-bayreuth.de

Go to the homepage of the student council


​Faculty councilHide

As of the winter semester 2021/22, the Faculty Council is composed as follows:

Dean, Vice deans, dean of studies

Six representatives of university teachers

Two representatives of the scientific staff

  • Tobias Kreisel
  • Moritz Zehnder

Representative of the non-scientific staff

  • Klaus Oetter

Two representatives of the students

  • Julia Schwarz
  • Armin Rödiger

Women’s representative of the faculty 

Doctorate committeeHide

The doctorate committee of the Faculty I for the period October 2021 to September 2023 consists of the following members according to § 3 of the Doctoral Regulations of the Faculty:

  • Prof. Dr. Volker Ulm (Dean)
  • Prof. Thomas Peternell (Department of mathematics)
  • Prof. Dr. Holger Kress (Department of physics)
  • Prof. Dr. Christian Knauer (Department of computer science)
  • Apl. Prof. Dr. Lothar Kador (Department of physics, non-professorial teaching staff)

Webmaster: Tobias Kreisel

Facebook Instagram UBT-A Contact